Venture investment and corporate strategy

2018 announcement to 2023 closure

Naspers Foundry’s 2019 Venture Fund

How Naspers Foundry’s South African venture-investment mandate became deals from 2019, why its capital commitment was not money already spent, and what closed in 2023.

Phuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa in a 2021 Davos Agenda video still, not a Foundry investment signing.
R1.4bn
Announced allocation, not an immediate disbursement
June 2019
First announced investment
March 2023
Dedicated operation ends

The short answer

What does a billion-rand funding announcement actually create? Naspers Foundry’s history separates an allocation, completed investments, portfolio support and the later decision to end a dedicated operation without automatically closing the businesses it backed.

Chronology

A timeline of the turning points

  1. Commitment announced

    Naspers introduces a South African startup investment allocation at the investment conference.

  2. First deal announced

    Foundry invests R30 million in SweepSouth.

  3. A country-level executive mandate

    Phuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa’s appointment includes Foundry and the separate Labs programme.

  4. Portfolio broadens

    Dated releases describe further investments and assistance to existing companies.

  5. Closure confirmed

    Naspers confirms the end of the dedicated operation, with existing holdings still managed.

The announcement created an allocation, not instant startup expenditure

Naspers announced Foundry at the South Africa Investment Conference in October 2018. The R1.4 billion commitment targeted early-stage technology businesses. Its first announced deal followed in June 2019. Both dates matter: the promise preceded the investment activity by which the initiative became more than an announced funding envelope.

The allocation was also separate from capital committed to existing Naspers businesses. Treating every local investment, operating-company expense and youth-development programme as Foundry expenditure would exaggerate what the vehicle deployed. A corporate pledge, a signed investment and a portfolio company’s later spending are different stages in the movement of capital.

Sources for this section: [1] · [6] · [3]

A stake in SweepSouth did not mean buying the whole business

On 20 June 2019, Foundry announced an R30 million investment in SweepSouth, a platform connecting clients with domestic cleaners. Bloomberg’s contemporary report noted that a company valuation was not disclosed. The amount invested therefore should not be converted into an invented purchase price for the entire business or an unsupported ownership percentage.

SweepSouth already had founders and an operating service. Foundry supplied investment and an intended relationship with the wider group, not the original invention of the company. Public statements about worker flexibility, pay and job creation were company claims; an investment announcement alone could not independently establish the quality of every worker’s experience.

Sources for this section: [1] · [2]

Further deals and portfolio work were separate forms of activity

A 2020 announcement described the R45 million Student Hub investment as Foundry’s fourth deal and put cumulative investment at approximately R200 million. Its portfolio now extended beyond home services into areas including agriculture, food distribution and education technology. That dated total was neither the full initial allocation nor a permanent measure of the portfolio.

Naspers’s 2021 reporting also described work helping an existing investment navigate the pandemic and raise capital. Supporting a business after investing is different from announcing another new deal. The company’s presentation to a competition inquiry described the initiative’s public-interest rationale; that was the investor’s submission, not a regulator’s independent endorsement of all claimed benefits.

Sources for this section: [3] · [4] · [5]

Country leadership did not make Foundry an executive’s personal fund

Mahanyele-Dabengwa’s July 2019 appointment included responsibility for Foundry and Naspers Labs, reporting to the group chief executive. Foundry was the investment initiative; Labs was a separate youth-development programme. The shared executive mandate does not justify blending their expenditure or treating either as her personally owned asset.

The distinction also matters for accountability. A country CEO can represent and oversee corporate strategy while investment teams, boards and portfolio managers perform different functions. Founders of backed businesses retain their own operating responsibilities. Giving one executive every investment success or failure erases those structures and confuses oversight with authorship and ownership.

Sources for this section: [6] · [3] · [5]

Ending the dedicated operation did not liquidate every investment

In March 2023, Naspers confirmed the end of Foundry’s dedicated operation while retaining its existing investments under corporate management. The change concerned how the investor was organised—not automatic liquidation of the businesses it backed.

An initial commitment cannot establish how much was ultimately spent or whether each investment succeeded. Those questions require separate transaction and outcome evidence, rather than treating the announcement or closure as a complete verdict.

Sources for this section: [7] · [5]

Biography context

Explore South Africa through connected lives

Connected biographies

The executive with the South African mandate

Phuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa in the supplied low-resolution 2021 Davos Agenda video still, seated before bookshelves.
South AfricaBusiness

1971–

Phuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa

Investment executive and Naspers South Africa CEOPhuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa built a career in infrastructure finance and investment before leading Naspers’s South African business. Her work spans Shanduka, Sigma Capital and technology investing, with public scrutiny of local economic benefits and the closure of Naspers Foundry. Her country-level executive role, directorships and investee-company ownership are distinct—not a claim that she personally owns or runs the whole group.Read biography

Quick answers

Common questions

Was R1.4 billion all invested on the launch date?
No. It was an allocation; dated disclosures record investments accumulating afterwards.
Did the first deal acquire all of SweepSouth?
The cited record establishes an investment, not a full purchase. Its valuation was not disclosed.
Were Foundry and Naspers Labs the same programme?
No. The appointment announcement distinguishes venture investment from youth development.
Was the competition-hearing presentation a regulatory endorsement?
No. It was Naspers’s own submission, not a finding by the Commission.

Primary and institutional sources

How this history was checked

Company releases establish the allocation and particular deals; contemporary Bloomberg reporting, selected annual-report and hearing passages, and the 2023 spokesperson confirmation distinguish claims, deployment and closure. This article was reviewed on 24 October 2026.

  1. Naspers20 June 2019: first Foundry investment and the separate October 2018 announcement
  2. Loni Prinsloo / Bloomberg, Moneyweb20 June 2019: independent investment report; company valuation undisclosed
  3. Naspers2020: fourth investment in The Student Hub and approximately R200 million deployed
  4. Naspers2021 integrated report, page 57: selected portfolio-support and pandemic passage
  5. Naspers / Competition Commission hearing3 November 2021 presentation, slide 21: selected Foundry mandate and deployment claim
  6. Naspers3 July 2019: South Africa CEO appointment, reporting line, Foundry and Labs mandates
  7. Karl Gernetzky / News24, with Naspers spokesperson confirmation13 March 2023: spokesperson confirmation on Foundry’s dedicated operation
  8. World Economic Forum / Wikimedia CommonsPhuthi Mahanyele-Dabengwa at Davos Agenda 2021: supplied video still
  9. World Economic Forum / YouTubeBuilding Inclusive, Sustainable and Job-creating Growth in Africa, 29 January 2021
  10. Creative CommonsAttribution 3.0 Unported